18th Century Man’s period shirt

Since starting my university course I have been rather busy with projects, this is my first project at uni.

This project was really interesting to construct as it’s the first male garment I have made; the shirt was worn as underwear in the 18th century.

I am really pleased with the out come of the shirt, I especially love the frill down the centre of the shirt. The collar fastens up at the bottom of the neck with a button in a hand made button hole. The sleeves work well being oversized and are brought in at the cuffs – the cuffs have two hand sewn button holes on as the cuffs are quite deep.

This shirt contains many fell seams that make the shirt more durable and substantial if was worn for a production.

The photos underneath show the shirt being worn. I am really pleased with the appearance of the shirt and I learnt valuable skills that can be used on other construction garments.

Leave a Reply

